[cs_content][cs_section parallax=”false” style=”margin: 0px;padding: 45px 0px;”][cs_row inner_container=”true” marginless_columns=”false” style=”margin: 0px auto;padding: 0px;”][cs_column fade=”false” fade_animation=”in” fade_animation_offset=”45px” fade_duration=”750″ type=”1/3″ style=”padding: 0px;”][x_image type=”none” src=”http://stpaulsmpls.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/ECMN_logo_withtext-copy-31.jpg” alt=”” link=”false” href=”#” title=”” target=”” info=”none” info_place=”top” info_trigger=”hover” info_content=””][/cs_column][cs_column fade=”false” fade_animation=”in” fade_animation_offset=”45px” fade_duration=”750″ type=”2/3″ style=”padding: 0px;”][x_custom_headline level=”h2″ looks_like=”h3″ accent=”true”]Clergy Responding to the Election[/x_custom_headline][/cs_column][/cs_row][cs_row inner_container=”true” marginless_columns=”false” style=”margin: 0px auto;padding: 0px;”][cs_column fade=”false” fade_animation=”in” fade_animation_offset=”45px” fade_duration=”750″ type=”1/1″ style=”padding: 0px;”][cs_text]A number of ECMN clergy from around the state have issued an open letter in response to the recent election.

To our neighbors who are anxious this week because you are women, Muslim, African American, Native American, Latino/a, immigrant, LGBTQ persons, and differently-abled,

We see you. Many of us are you.

We know that overt sexism, corruption, xenophobia, racism, homophobia, and Islamophobia have not only been undercurrents of our political rhetoric this year, but, in many cases, prominent features of it.

After the election, like many of you, we woke with a gnawing fear that that rhetoric might translate into acts of injustice against you, your families, and your bodies.

As priests and deacons of the Episcopal Church in Minnesota, we believe that every person is created in God’s image, imbued and blessed with inherent dignity and worth. We reject the notion that one group of people benefit only at the expense of another group. We will not sit idly by and allow the rights and dignity of any of our community to be threatened or revoked.

We see you and we stand with you.

Simultaneously, we repent of where the church has failed or fallen down in this work – we know we have not always stood with you. We recognize the great responsibility the church has to join in God’s mission to reconcile the world, to never cease in working against injustice, and we commit to working for policies and systems that will bring healing and restoration and relief.

  • We will continue the work of peace and justice, to feed the hungry, house the homeless, and welcome the refugee and immigrant.
  • We will be active in civic conversations.
  • We will build bridges of friendship and kinship between our faith communities.
  • We will be committed to breaking bread with all our neighbors and witness to the strength of respectful relationship in these times.

To any of our neighbors who find themselves the target of discrimination, racism, islamophobia, homophobia, sexism, or any kind of bigotry – we are with you. We pledge our support as leaders in the wider community, that we will stand between you and injustice. Our doors are open and our faith communities are safe spaces to any who need them.

God’s gift to us is our difference and diversity. We believe we are strengthened as a diverse people by the great gifts you bring to our common life.

Whatever comes next, we want to be in relationship with you and we commit to being strong allies with you.
We see you and we stand with you!


The Reverends[/cs_text][/cs_column][/cs_row][cs_row inner_container=”true” marginless_columns=”false” style=”margin: 0px auto;padding: 0px;”][cs_column fade=”false” fade_animation=”in” fade_animation_offset=”45px” fade_duration=”750″ type=”1/1″ style=”padding: 0px;”][x_columnize]Vant Albert Washington III Minneapolis
Devon Anderson Excelsior
Alice Mae Applequist Chatfield
Mary Ellen Ashcroft Grand Marais
Marilyn Baldwin White Bear Lake
Susan Barnes Minneapolis
Phil Boelter Minneapolis
Kate Bradtmiller St. Paul
Cindi Brickson Minneapolis
Cynthia Bronson Sweigert Minneapolis
Deborah E. Brown Eagen
Lydia Huttar Brown Minneapolis
John Bellaimey Minneapolis
Joy Caires St. Paul
Justin Chapman Faribault
Rob Cavanna Elk River
Tom Cook Edina
Cassandra Cook-Quarry Faribault
Judith DesHarnais St. Paul
Susan Daughtry Minneapolis
Barbara del Caro Scaia Minneapolis
Terry Dinovo St. Paul
Lee Domenick Minneapolis
Jan Dougherty Eagan
Guy Drake Minnetonka
John Dwyer Roseville
Tom Eklo Richfield
Barb Elliot Duluth
Diane Elliott Edina
Neil Elliott St. Paul
Margaret Fell Minneapolis
Leonard Freeman Minnetonka
Lindsay Freeman Minnetonka
Tom Gehlsen Rochester
Morris Goodwin Wayzata
Buff Grace Stillwater
Dawnlynn Greeney Minneapolis
Mary Groeninger Ely
Cheryl Harder Hermantown
Tom Harries St. Peter
Eileen Harvala Anoka
Cindy Hillger Minnetonka
Georgia Hecock Detroit lakes
Lisa Wiens Heinsoh Edina
Cindy Hillger Minnetonka
Brenda Hoffman Hastings
Sandra Holmberg Detroit Lakes
Judy Hoover Golden Valley
Randy Johnson White Bear Lake
Eunice Koch Ely
Craig Lemming Minneapolis
Katherine Lewis Minnetonka
Jason Lucas Wayzata
Janet MacNally Roseville
Marta Maddy Duluth
Colin Maltbie Faribault
Gayle Mardene Marsh Northfield
Margy Mattlin St. Paul
Sally Maxwell Duluth
Rex McKee St. Paul
Jennifer McNally Sunfish Lake
Anne Miner-Pearson Excelsior
Scott Monson Basswood Grove
Susan Moss St. Paul
Keely Morgan St. Paul
Anthony Morley Minneapolis
Barbara Mraz St. Paul
Lynn Naeckel International Falls
Fre Nairn Minnetonka
Charles Nelson Albertville
Theo Park Sunfish Lake
Daniel Pearson St. Louis Park
Cindy Peterson-Wlosinski Duluth
Mary Phelps Anoka
Roger V. Phillips Sauk Centre
Michael Pipkin Edina
Blair Pogue St. Paul
John Rettger Minneapolis
Paul Rider Mankato
Neptali Rodriguez St. Paul
Gretchen Roeck Minneapolis
Phil Rose St. Paul
Ramona Scarpace Minneapolis
Phillip Schaffner Minneapolis
Steve Schaitberger Brainerd
Carolyn Schmidt Grand Marais
Christine Seaton Fairmont
Paul Shaffer White Bear Lake
Coke Smith White Earth
Tom Sinning Alexandria
Georgianna Smith Sunfish Lake
Georgia Steele Fairmont
Betty Strong St. Paul
John Sullivan Austin
Bill Teska Minneapolis
Margaret Thor St. Paul
Michael Tippett Owatonna
Richard Todd White Bear Lake
Colleen Tully Marshall
Rena Turnham Minneapolis
Robert Two Bulls Minneapolis
Bill Van Oss Duluth
Barbara von Haaren Red Wing
Penelope Warren St. Louis Park
LeeAnne Watkins St. Paul
Jered Weber-Johnson St. Paul
Chip Whitacre Excelsior
Lisa White Smith Plymouth
Stephen Whitney-Wise St. Paul
James Wilson St. Paul
Letha Wilson-Barnard St. Paul
Stephen Wlosinski Duluth[/x_columnize][/cs_column][/cs_row][/cs_section][/cs_content]